A Great Day For America

Today, Joey Chestnut defeated the legendary Takeru Kobayashi in the annual Nathan’s Hot Dog Eating Contest.  At the end of the 10-minute regulation eating period, Chestnut and Kobayashi were tied at 59 dogs.  Chestnut went on to take the title in the 5 dog overtime eat-off.  After watching this, I have informed my human that I am putting myself up for adoption by either Chestnut or Kobayashi.  My human could never eat 59 hot dogs in 10 minutes and that makes him lame.

As for Joey Chestnut, I’m calling you out!  I think that I can eat more hot dogs than you.  Seriously. If you want some real competition, bring some hot dogs over to my house and we’ll get it on.

6 comments

  1. coblyn@comcast.net

    Time to take things into your own paws.
    The humans are CHEAP with the good stuff. We dogs need any edge we can get. I am investigating methods to lengthen my tongue. I watched a frog with a reach of a few feet on Animal Planet.

    From the photo, I think you have what it takes Big Pupi. Do your tongue lengthening exercises every day and soon you’ll have it at waste height.

    That’s MY goal this summer.

  2. coblyn@comcast.net

    Just to make things crystal clear, my human posted the first comment. It’s me, Fenway.

    Eat hearty today! It’s all about the meat.

  3. coblyn@comcast.net

    Bottom of the ninth.
    Bases loaded.
    Two outs.
    “Now it’s all up to Lugo.”

    Sadder words were never spoken.

    Love,
    Fenway

    PS: Next time we’re in Boston we’ll pick you up one of those tasty Dice-K t-shirts.

  4. dzimmerm@dandp.com

    I thought the overtime period was actually given the rather undignified name (at least to my way of thinking) of DOG-OFF.

    You dogs are not nearly as delicate as cats like Emmet and me, who wouldn’t even think of such behavior despite the fact that we also love to eat. But we don’t want to start any species wars here, so I won’t say any more.

    Eleanor

  5. nansidd-sox@yahoo.com

    Yes, I did hear all about the “dog-off” on the radio this morning, with all the stats about the contest. (Doesn’t that phrase make you guys just a little nervous?) Apparently this is the second time this guy has beaten Kobayashi. I have to confess that as much as I like to chow down anything in sight, I suspect that 59 hot dogs would have me letting loose more than just hairballs.

    And I am happy to learn about the Lugo rumor – let’s hope it’s true!

    Emmet

Leave a comment