Red Sox Nation, Relax

After yet another frustrating game tonight, I know there’s some major unrest in Red Sox Nation.  I admit that I have also contributed to the negativity lately.  But then I remembered that every morning when I wake up and crawl out of my crate, I truly believe it’s the best day of my life.  Maybe it’s because I eat raw turkey necks for breakfast, or maybe I’m just an optimistic pup.  Either way, I’m going to stay positive and point out all the good things that are happening with the Red Sox:

1.  Julio Lugo actually drove in a run (his first RBI of the year).  Although his RBI came on a kind of fluke bloop hit, this proves that Lugo is not purposely trying to get out with men in scoring position (even though he did hit into a key double-play when the Sox were rallying).
2.  Julian Tavarez hasn’t punched anyone in the face yet this year.  He also hasn’t punched any bullpen phones.  This is great news because we need Tavarez not to break his hand as he emerges as the anchor of the Sox middle relief (0.00 ERA in 3 innings pitched).
3.  Mike Timlin has recovered from his hunting injury and rejoins the team on Friday, which means we don’t have to deal with Bryan Corey anymore.
4.  Fenway Park still serves Fenway Franks.
5.  It’s statistically impossible for David Ortiz’s batting average to drop any lower.
6.  Eric Gagne is still blowing saves in Milwaukee, so it was good we got rid of him.
7.  Once Tito pulls Wakefield tomorrow and the bullpen lets the game get out of hand, there’s always the BC Eagles in the Frozen Four to watch!
Happy hunting,
Bookmark and Share

One comment

  1. dzimmerm@dandp.com

    I’m really glad you’re going to stay optimistic in the face of all this adversity, Big Pupi. It’s the only way to be – remember that some of us used to go years without seeing a Red Sox team that could be competitive. All we’re having now is a slight slump, and eventually we’ll pull out of it.

    I just hope the fans don’t start screaming to get rid of Big Papi because he’s only hitting .093, or that Theo is a moron because he should have let Lowell go to the Yankees so he could bat .200 there instead of here.

    Eleanor

Leave a comment